top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIris Anais Shavanna

Tudor / Elisabethan costumes

Updated: Feb 28, 2020

Project for Costume for performance – September / November 2016

Either Tudor dresses and Elisabethan really appeal to me this time and I couldn´t choose for one of them.

So, taking into account that Elisabeth I used to dress in both fashions along her life I decided to make both of them in half scale this time.

Also I am taking the challenge of making each corset for each fashion and outfit, so I can master the art of making period corsets.

Some imaginery that inspired me apart from the movie Elisabeth The golden age are

from Tudor times:



from Elisabethan fashions:




Here is my working process:

  1. Bum roll

  2. Armada pad for Jacobean style

  3. Wheel and Spanish farthingales

  4. Skirt and Kirtle


Corset- Tudor in  half scale





and Elizabethan made to my measurements

Now the ruffles and underproppers/ supportasses

Bodice and double sleeves


And voilá!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Empire-Victorian-Edwardian corsets

May – July 2017 Feeling confident with making corsets, I wanted to take the challenge of making the four patterns the teacher gave us with different materials, fabrics, bonings, and designs, just to p

bottom of page